About

Mission

Emily Griffith High School is committed to promoting and enhancing the individual personal growth and academic achievement of each student. We continually reinforce high expectations for self-esteem development leading to career prospects and successful post-secondary transitions.

Emily Griffith High School (EGHS) is an alternative school focused on retrieving students, 17 to 20, who left high school before earning a diploma. EGHS offers courses toward a high school diploma or a General Education Development (GED) certificate. The core classes meet Colorado State Standards. The Denver Public Schools certifies the diplomas and the Colorado Department of Education accredits the school.

History

  • Since 1916, Emily Griffith Technical College has offered academic classes for adults.
  • 1985 – Under a written agreement, the Colorado Department of Education established a pilot dropout retrieval high school at Emily Griffith Opportunity School. Eleven high school students earned a diploma. Four students received a GED.
  • 1986 – The Educational Quality Act of 1985 officially designated the high school as a Second Chance program and the high school received its own funding.
  • 2000 – Second Chance High School was renamed Emily Griffith High School.
  • 2014 – Emily Griffith High School moved to 1860 Lincoln Street.
  • 2014 – Emily Griffith High School began the GED Plus Program.
  • 2015 – Second GED location opened at the new Emily Griffith Technical College at 1205 Osage Street.

Urban Campus

After nearly 30 years of educating young men and women to receive their high school diploma or their General Educational Development (GED) certificate, Emily Griffith High School has moved into two new locations. Students are now in a more modern learning facilities at 1860 Lincoln Street in downtown Denver, as well as 1205 Osage Street in the Lincoln Park/Auraria neighborhood.  Both sites are within blocks of public transportation.

The new building will allow the high school to enhance new technology with more natural light and efficiently regulated temperatures will provide improved learning environments. Some programs will enjoy significant make-overs with state-of-the art equipment. Check back for updates.

Our Staff

The entire staff at EGHS strives to provide a competency based education with a transitional environment where personal attention and prescriptive programs extend opportunities for success.

For all phone numbers, dial 720-423 followed by the extension.

         
Administration   Room Ext Email
Daves, David Principal 314 4911 David_Daves@dpsk12.org
Todd, Haley Assistant Principal 316 4912 Haley_Todd@dpsk12.org
Coppola, Jackie Director of GED Program 315 4924 Jacqueline_Coppola@dpsk12.org
Amador, Mercedes Office Manager 311 4909 Mercedes_Amador@dpsk12.org
Counseling Staff        
Amsberry, Katie Counselor 325B 4942 Catherine_Amsberry@dpsk12.org
Gonzalez, Amy GED Counselor 325E 4945 Amy_Gonzalez@dpsk12.org
MacDonald, Stacy Counselor 325A 4941 Stacy_MacDonald@dpsk12.org
Wilson, Liora Counselor 325F 4946 Liora_Wilson@dpsk12.org
Teaching Staff        
Cashman, Theresa Science 332 4933 Theresa_Cashman@dpsk12.org
Clark, Patrick Language Arts 328 4930 Patrick_Clark@dpsk12.org
Cooper, Susan GED Math/Science 321 4926 Susan_Cooper@dpsk12.org
Faulkner, Cynthia GED Para 321 4926 Cynthia_Faulkner@dpsk12.org
Frederick, Jaydee Social Studies 331 4932 Jaydee_Frederick@dpsk12.org
Furtado, Alizay GED Language Arts/Social Studies 320 4925 Alizay_Furtado@dpsk12.org
Gilmore, Donald GED Language Arts/Social Studies Osage 208 8973 Donald_Gilmore@dpsk12.org
Golembeski, Betty Site Assessment Leader 309 4931 Betty_Golembeski@dpsk12.org
Grimbly, Katelyn Math 303 4916 Katelyn_Grimbly@dpsk12.org
Hendricks, Rebecka Math 304 4917 Rebecka_Hendricks@dpsk12.org
Hoskins, Katie English 326 4929 Katie_Hoskins@dpsk12.org
Harrold, Theresa Special Education 307 4902 Theresa_Harrold@dpsk12.org
Kelly, Michelle Special Education 325D 4944 Michelle_Kelly@dpsk12.org
Lamitie, Carrie Social Studies 329 4930 Carrie_Lamitie@dpsk12.org
Mann, Marie Testing Para 309 4931 Marie_Mann@dpsk12.org
Pallett, Jennie Writing Specialist jennie.pallett51@gmail.com
Purvin, Robyn GED Career Counselor 323 4927 rpurvin@goodwilldenver.org
Thompson, Nathaniel Math 340 4939 Nathaniel_Thompson@dpsk12.org
Walsh, Carrie Science 335 4935 Carrie_Walsh@dpsk12.org
Walsh, Kathy GED Math/Science Osage 211 4981 Kathy_Walsh@dpsk12.org
Weisberger, Katie Art 336 4936 Katie_Weisberger@dpsk12.org
Weiss, Stephen Math 302 4915 Stephen_Weiss@dpsk12.org
Woodyard, Christoper Language Arts 334 4934 Christopher_Woodyard@dpsk12.org
Office Support        
Alarcon, Iris Registration 327 4903 Iris_Alarcon@dpsk12.org
Choi, Kathy Registration 327 4904 Kathy_Choi@dpsk12.org
Community Outreach        
Purvin, Robyn Interim Outreach Coordinator 323 4927 Robyn_Purvin@dpsk12.org
Library Media Center        
Mascarenas, Carla Media Center Coordinator 306 4918 Carla_Mosher-Mascarenas@dpsk12.org
Social Worker        
Garcia, David Social Worker 325C 4943 David_Garcia@dpsk12.org
Campus Security        
Medina, Raymond Security officer 307B 4940 Raymond_Medina@dpsk12.org
Health Services        
Sposato, Rebecca School Nurse 317 303-359-2975 Rebecca_Sposato@dpsk12.org